jump to navigation

É mais do que iogurte… June 7, 2009

Posted by C. in tutorial, yogurt/iogurte.
trackback

Homemade yogurt? When I first saw this on the tv I was astonished! How something like that was possible? After that moment I searched a lot about the subject, saw different recipes, read different opinions. I can say that there was a time that I only searched this (when I get curious I’ve to go deep in the subject). Iogurte feito em casa? A primeira vez que vi isto na televisão fiquei deslumbrada! Como é que era possível tal coisa? A partir desse momento pesquisei bastante sobre o assunto, vi diferentes receitas, li diferentes opiniões. Posso dizer que houve uma altura em que só pesquisava isto (eu quando começo curiosa sobre alguma coisa tenho de ir até ao fundo da questão).
If you know nothing about this, I can tell you the advantages right away: it’s eco-friendly since the glass cups are always reused, it’s cheaper and it’s pretty (I talk for myself since I found the process so simple, even thought I never knew anyone who does it, expect in the internet). And one more thing: we know everything that’s in there. Para quem não conhece, digo já as vantagens: é amigo do ambiente porque os copinhos de vidro são sempre reutilizados, é mais barato e é bonito (falo por mim porque achei todo o processo tão simples embora não tenha conhecido ninguém que o faça, sem ser na internet). E mais uma coisa: sabemos tudo o que lá pomos dentro =)
First: science lesson (I’ll keep it short I promised). I’m going to explain how yogurt is created (I told you I like to search about everything). Primeiro: lição de ciências (prometo que será curta). Vou explicar como o iogurte se cria (eu disse que gostava de pesquisar sobre tudo).
There are two types of bacterias that make yogurt possible: Streptococcus thermophilus and Lactobacillus bulgaricus. They “eat” the lactose from the milk and release lactic acid (which causes the curd of the milk). These bacterias love to live in a warm environment (around 40ºC). Existem dois tipos de bacterias que tornam possível o iogurte: Streptococcus thermophilus e Lactobacillus bulgaricus. Elas “comem” a lactose do leite e libertam ácido láctico (que causa a coagulação do leite). Estas bactérias adoram viver em ambientes quentes (por volta de 40ºC).
This is a simple way to explain all this. Search more if this made you interested! É uma maneira simples de explicar tudo isto. Pesquisa mais se ficaste interessado!
Now let’s go to the tutorial. I saw many recipes and hints but this one got me interested and basically is the one I use. Agora vamos ao tutorial. Vi várias receitas e dicas mas esta interessou-me bastante e basicamente é aquela que eu utilizo.
I used to make my yogurts in the oven but my boyfriend recently bought me this: (thank you!). Anyway I’ll explain to do it without the yogurt maker. Eu costumava fazer os meus iogurtes no forno mas o meu namorado comprou-me isto recentemente: (obrigada!). De qualquer forma explicarei como fazê-lo sem uma iogurteira.
howtomakeyogurt-2
Heat one liter of milk with 100ml of sugar (if you liked them without sugar remove this, I just can’t eat them without any sugar) and 100 ml of powdered milk (this will add creaminess to your yogurt). Aqueça um litro de leite com 100ml de açúcar (se gostar deles sem açúcar pode tirar, eu simplesmente não os consigo comer sem açúcar) e 100ml de leite em pó (para que o iogurte seja cremoso)
howtomakeyogurt-1
Heat until it reaches about 122ºF/140ºF. Aqueça até atingir os 50ºC/60ºC. I’ve a thermometer (now I thank my brother) but if you don’t have one basically you’ve to be able to keep your finger in the milk for about 2 seconds, if you can’t it’s already too hot (you don’t have to be very precise at this point). Eu tenho um termómetro (agora agradeço ao meu irmão) mas se não tiver um basicamente tem de ser capaz de deixar o dedo no leite por cerca de 2 segundos, se não conseguir já está muito quente (neste momento a precisão não é muito crítica por isso não há problema).
howtomakeyogurt-3
Now it’s time to wait until the temperature of the milk reaches about 108ºF. The milk temperature must feel like a warm bath, not too warm or you’ll kill the bacteria (in the first times it’s better to leave it cool down a little bit than to have only milk in the end). Agora é tempo para esperar até a temperatura do leite chegue a aproximadamente 42ºC. A temperatura do leite deverá ser como um banho quente, não demasiado quente ou poderá matar a bactéria (nas primeiras vezes é melhor deixar arrefecer mais um pouco do que ter apenas leite no final).
Where are we going to find bacteria? In yogurt of course! I use a natural yogurt of 120gr (flavoured yogurt may not work so good). One vamos encontrar bactérias? No iogurte claro! Eu uso um iogurte natural de 120gr (iogurte com sabor pode não dar tão bons resultados). You’ll also need a hand blender or a whisk. Precisará também de uma varinha mágica ou uma vara de arames.
howtomakeyogurt-4
Now add the yogurt and mix. Agora adicione o iogurte e mexa. This usually leaves some foam in the milk, I remove it because it leaves a weird texture in the yogurt. Isto costuma deixar uma espuma no leite, eu tiro-o porque deixa uma textura esquisita no iogurte.
howtomakeyogurt-5
Boil some water and pour it in a plastic container. I use this to sterilize my glass containers. Ferva água e despeje para uma taça de plástico. Eu uso isto para esterilizar os meus frascos de vidro.
howtomakeyogurt-6
Remove the glass containers and pour the milk on it. Tire os frascos de vidro e ponha o leite em cada um deles. (I had some fun taking this photos) (Diverti-me a tirar estas fotos)
howtomakeyogurt-7
Yogurts ready to go: Iogurtes prontos para ir:
howtomakeyogurt-8
In the yogurt maker (it’s better to cover it with a towel to keep the heat). Na iogurteira (A iogurteira convém ser coberta com uma toalha para manter um pouco o calor).
Oven method: I believe that with this method you’ve to work fast to not let your yogurts cool off after the sterilization. I used to put one isotermic bag in another isotermic bag then fill them with towels, put the yogurts there. After the oven reaches 122ºF I’ll put the bag there and turn off the oven. Método do forno: Eu acredito que neste método é necessário trabalhar rápido para que os iogurtes não arrefecam depois da esterilização. Eu costumava por um saco isotérmico dentro de outro saco isotérmicro e enchê-los de toalhas, depois punha os iogurtes. Depois do forno atingir os 50ºC punha o saco lá e desligava o forno.
Leave the bacteria alone for about 7 to 12 hours. Deixe a bactéria sozinha cerca de 7 a 12 horas. The more time you leave the yogurt ferment the more acid it’ll be (read the science lesson above). Quanto mais tempo deixar o iogurte fermentar mais ácido ele ficará (leia a lição de ciências acima).
Enjoy your yogurt! I know I’ll🙂 Mine are in the yogurt maker now. Saboreie o iogurte! Eu sei que o farei🙂 Os meus estão na iogurteira agora. howtomakeyogurt-9
I never enjoyed my attempts of making flavoured yogurt (besides vanilla) but if I’ve good results someday I’ll post the recipe here! Eu nunca gostei das minhas tentativas de fazer iogurte com sabor (sem ser de baunilha) mas se alguma vez tiver bons resultados postarei a receita aqui!

Comments»

1. TasteStopping - June 9, 2009

I have to admit, homemade yogurt scares me! But, we love yogurt in this house, so it would be nice to be able to make ourselves.

I found your site via a comment you left at ButterYum a while back. I am actually getting in touch with you to let you know about a “blog” of sorts that I’ve started, called TasteStopping.com. It’s a place where those of us who have had our photographs declined from TasteSpotting, FoodGawker or Photo Grazing can submit and have that same work published to help drive traffic to our sites. I hope you will check it out and give me your feedback. Even better, send me your photos!

The current home is: http://www.tastestopping.wordpress.com (until the official site is up and running). I look forward to hearing (and seeing) from you soon!

Thanks,
Casey

2. bev - June 10, 2009

Great instructions. I do this too. What kind of yogurt maker do you have? Mine is a Donvier and I love it! But yours seems to have glass jars. Like that better. Keep posting about your yogurt creations. I am searching for ideas!

3. teeni - June 21, 2009

I had one of those machines but sold it on E-bay because I decided I would rather make one big batch than separate cups. Either way, you can add a bit of flavor (and thicken it too) by stirring in a teaspoon of instant flavored gelatin if you like. I like it with a bit of instant vanilla pudding and a bit of berry preserves. YUM!

4. Penny in TN - August 5, 2009

I make yogurt in our crock pot😀


Leave a Reply

